Chiller for koi pond
  • koikichivnkoikichivn February 2013
    Hello sifu and sis

I believe many of Malaysian Koi hobbyist is using the chiller for your pond, and I would like to listen your experience about
    - what brand and model do you use ?
    - anyone uses room-airconditioner as a chiller?
    - how much hp shall you need for 15-tons-pond?
    - how much do you pay for electric bill just for the chiller?
    - how improvement does the kois get after installing chiller?

Sorry for too many question but I want to learn about this matter, not many hobbyist inVietnam uses chiller for koi pond

Thank you and best regards

• urbaneffectsurbaneffects November 2013
    Chiller has become part of our koi-pond set up for serious hobbyist. Is the improvement on koi justified to pay a higher electricity bill? Is it worth getting one? Pls comments for those who have one!!
  • ShukriShukri November 2013
    Since I have been using a chiller for 2 years now, let me start............

Yes, chillers have been part of this koi hobby. Is the improvement of the koi versus the higher electricity bill............. justified? A very good question indeed......

For a person like me that love the living jewels, would like my kois to look best possible, and enter my kois in Shows, and would want to win the big and the major prices...... then having a chiller is not an option. It is mandatory. The body, the color, skin quality and the shine improves with chilled water. Nishikigois are indegenious fishes of Japan, and Japan being in the northern part of the globe, has cold and cool weather. So if we can mimick the water condition, quality & temperature, the kois will thrive better.

If you have that extra funds, if you have that passion, and you want to win in Shows, then a chiller is not an option.
    In Koianswers Forum, no one individual is above the rest. This is the Forum for the Koi Community.
  • HDCuHDCu November 2013
    Hi Bro shukri,